Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Upcoming Grant and Award Deadlines from AGU

AGU Natural Hazards Focus Group Award for Graduate Research
Deadline for Nominations: 1 July 2010
The AGU Natural Hazards Focus Group seeks nominations for its new award to young scientists engaged in studies of natural hazards and risks. This award recognizes one or more promising young scientists for outstanding contributions achieved during their Ph.D. research. Accordingly, eligibility is restricted to current Ph.D. students and those who have completed the requirements for a Ph.D. degree up to 12 months prior to the nomination deadline. Nominees should be AGU members.

The major criterion in the evaluation of candidates nominated to this award is the impact (or potential impact) of the research on the field of natural hazards. The award consists of $500 for support of travel to the AGU Fall meeting, a certificate, and recognition at the Natural Hazards Reception. The awardee(s) will have the opportunity to deliver an invited paper in an appropriate Natural Hazards session at the AGU Fall meeting. The awardee(s) will also be announced in EOS.

In order to be considered by the selection committee, nominations should be received by July 1, 2010. Please send nominations in an electronic form to:

Dr. Ilya Zaliapin, E-mail: zal@unr.edu
Secretary, AGU Focus Group on Natural Hazards
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Nevada, Reno, NV 89557
Tel: +1-775-784-6077

For more information, visit: http://www.agu.org/focus_group/NH/awards/

Call for Applications: Bruno Martinelli Travel Fellowship: Travel Grant for Latin American/Caribbean Students and Young Scientists
Travel Grant Deadline: 7 July 2010

To attend and present a paper on the volcanic process at the 2010 Workshop of the European Seismological Commision "Earthquakes and Volcanoes"
Clermont-Ferrand, France
18-25 September 2010

For more information, visit: http://www.agu.org/meetings/stg/martinelli.php

2010 Hydrological Sciences Award
Deadline for Nominations: 15 July 2010
The Hydrologic Sciences Award Committee of the AGU Hydrology Section seeks nominations for the 2010 Hydrologic Sciences Award (known formerly as the Robert E. Horton Award). The awardee will be recognized for an outstanding contribution to the science of hydrology. All contributions made over a career can be considered, but more weight should be given to the last five years. Please send a current resume of the nominee and a minimum of three supporting letters by 15 July 2010 to the Committee Chair:

Professor Harihar Rajaram
Dept. of Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0428 USA
Tel: +1-303-492-6604
Fax: +1-303-492-7317
Email: hari@colorado.edu

For more information, visit: http://hydrology.agu.org/

No comments:

Post a Comment