Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Webinar: Networking for Academic Careers, May 16, 2013

Networking for Academic Careers
May 16, 2013
4 pm Eastern | 3 pm Central | 2 pm Mountain | 1 pm Pacific (1 hr)

Leader: Tracey Holloway, University of Wisconsin, Madison  (Environmental Studies Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences, Civil and Environmental Engineering)

Registration deadline: May 9, 2013
Payment deadline: May 9, 2013

Networking may be the most important career skill that we don't learn in grad school. Effective networking helps connect you with jobs, collaborators, funding, mentors, and recognition for your work. Person-to-person connections also lead to a more rewarding professional experience, reducing feelings of isolation and helping to build support systems and friendships. This webinar will help participants think through both the "why" and "how" of effective networking, both in-person and on-line, and introduce a clear, practical strategy for your own career networking. We hope you will join us!

Webinar goals are for participants to:
    consider the reasons for networking
    learn more about effective networking strategies
    develop a clear, practical strategy for your own career networking

Time - 4 pm Eastern | 3 pm Central | 2 pm Mountain | 1 pm Pacific
Duration - 1 hour
(We will offer an optional webinar warm-up 15 minutes before the start of the webinar). 

Format - Online web presentation via Adobe Connect web conference software with questions and discussion. Participants will receive an email with instructions detailing how to log into the event approximately one week prior to the event.

Registration and payment - Please use the Online Registration Form to reserve your place in this webinar. The cost of the webinar is $30 (or $20 for NAGT members). Once you register for the webinar, you can pay the registration fee. Both the webinar registration and registration fee are due by May 9, 2013.

Preparation - Prior to the workshop, download any handouts posted to this website

Heather Macdonald
Department of Geology
College of William & Mary
Williamsburg, VA  23187-8795

No comments:

Post a Comment